2015 Axios Euro Cup

The 2015 Axios Euro Cup took place on the weekend in Umag, Croatia. 12 men’s teams and 6 women’s teams battled it out in a 9-a-side tournament to take out the titles of the Axios AFL Europe Euro Cup Champions!

Four pools of three made up the men’s competition while two pools of three made up the women’s competition. Coming from all around Europe, the men’s competition was also graced by the Peace Team; a group of men from both Palestine and Israel fighting for Peace and talking through their love of Australian Rules Football.

The women’s competition had 6 teams, the highest amount of female teams to date and the competition was fierce. Two white washes, England beating Croatia 88-0 and Denmark beating France 50-1, enabled the England Vixens and the Denmark Valkyries to make it through to the final. The England Vixens, however, showed they were too strong for the Denmark Valkyries, finishing 54-6.

The men’s competition had a strong, top four finish with England, Ireland, Croatia and Denmark battling in out to make the final. Ireland and England faced off first; Ireland, being dubbed the quickest side of the day, couldn’t beat England’s skill set, which took them through to the final 23-9. The Croatian’s had dominated their pool coming into the final, as had Denmark, making for an interesting match; the Vikings came into the final stronger and finished off the Croatians 57-14. The men’s final had nails being bitten for the first half and an even score board took everyone into the second half, while we were fast loosing the Croatian sun. Denmark came out all guns blazing in the second half, keeping England to a solitary goal and taking home the gold after blowing the lead out to 21 points.



Team of the Tournament – Women’s

Elise Kristensen – NOR

Danni Salter – ENG

Kelsey Wiggers – CRO

Miriam van Thenan – DEN

Anna Ekdahl – SWE

Berengere Portal – FRA

Ana Barisic – CRO

Lea Cobham – ENG

Elise Thelliez – FRA

Coline Duquet – FRA

Katharina Rue – NOR

Anna Persson – SWE

Rania Ramandan – ENG

Chloe Hall – ENG

Maria Falkesgaard Jorgensen – DEN


BOG Final – Rania Ramadan (ENG)


Team manager: Matt – NOR

Coach: Ian Baxter – ENG


Team of the Tournament – Men’s

Martin Schittegg – AUS

Matthew Goodman – SCO

Kasper Hoegh Jensen – CRU

Ruben Streicher – GER

Eivind Mryvold – NO

Ethan Nehemia – PEA

Jort Kolman – NETH

Jeremy Sardin – FRA

David Lazanin – CRO

Dean Ryan – IRE

Chris Britton – ENG

Jens Djernes – DEN

Aksel Bang Jensen – DEN

Ross Denton – ENG

Yonatan Belik – PEA


BOG Final – Aksel Bang (DEN)


Team manager: Yonatan Belik – PEACE

Team coach: Morten Engsbye -DEN